Blending Fiber

This post has 12 Replies | 4 Followers
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 29
JaneanE wrote
on Nov 4, 2010 11:38 AM

I am new to Spinning, and have so far spun with only one type of fiber at a time.  I often see blends of different types of fiber 80/20, or 50/50.  Blends like wool and alpaca, or silk and the such.  I am wondering if I were to blend fibers myself would I be looking to blend in increments of weight or volume?  These would seem to vary a great deal by the type of fiber.  I am just not sure what standards of measurement are typically used for this.

Thanks,

Janean

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 29
JaneanE wrote
on Nov 7, 2010 1:05 PM

Thanks so much, this does help. 

Janean

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 6
spinlizzy wrote
on Jan 23, 2012 3:14 PM

Wow... I searched "blending" and this post came up. Thanks, Denise, this was exactly what I was looking for. I, too, am ready to experiment with blending two different fibers together (in my case, romney and alpaca... hoping to make the romney a little softer). The idea of using my spindle to "sample" a yarn before I commit 2 lbs of fiber to the project is a stroke of genius! I never considered the staple length issue. I have SO much to learn....

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 558
on Jan 23, 2012 4:39 PM

Excellent! That is what cites like this are for - asking and answering.

Denise

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 6
spinlizzy wrote
on Jan 24, 2012 9:12 AM

Good! Then I have one more question before I go ahead with this. My alpaca is all different lengths... ranging from a little over 1" to almost 3". Unfortunately, I've already picked it, so there's no seperating it now. I was hoping that handcarding would kind of blend everything and it wouldn't matter, but now you've got me worried! Will the different staple lengths (especially combined with the longer romney) adversely affect the yarn, or just make drafting more difficult? I'll be making fine singles, spun from rolags, for a 3 ply yarn.

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 558