Can one learn to spin without a teacher?

This post has 16 Replies | 6 Followers rated by 1 users
Top 100 Contributor
Posts 13
hazelcb wrote
on Feb 27, 2012 5:17 PM

I'm a total newbie--OK, I did spin on a spindle many years ago, and I've forgotten everything I learned then--and I'm wondering if it's possible to learn how to spindle spin on one's own, without a teacher. (I'm looking for a teacher but haven't found one yet.) I've heard that there are many Youtube videos on how to spindle spin. Does anyone have any recommendations on what videos to watch or what methods to use? Or are there some DVDs to buy that a beginner can't live without?

FWIW, I'm left-handed. I remember that, when I used to try to spin in the past, I spun "backward." Is this a problem in my learning to spin?

Thanks for your help!

Hazel

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 4
Mary Timme wrote
on Feb 28, 2012 11:21 AM

Absolutely you can learn to spin without a teacher.  I had a bit of help with a bicycle looking wheel and am now learning to spin by hand with a book.  I've also had two DVD's to watch on spindles and you can do it.  For me the best thing was hearing others say, "That's all right, I did that too, just unwind and get your fibers apart . . .:" , and off I'd go again and then they'd say, just fluff up the ends and start again and I went on from there.  I wouldn't start with quivet as a first time fleece.  It has to be de-haired and combed to work well and be soft and with a long staple (How long the fiber is between your hands as you test pulling it apart.) it takes less twist.  All of this is in books and DVD's and available to you.  I'm sure there are tutorials in "Spin-Off" and else where on this website too.  Just keep on.  If you haven't spun before you'll feel like all thumbs and it may help to watch someone else at a wheel or spindle.  They make it seem easy, but it is all muscle memory and practice.  Just keep going.   

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 4
Mary Timme wrote