New to drop spindle spinning

This post has 3 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 3
on Oct 30, 2012 9:39 AM

I have used a drop spindle once twice in the past but only for a few brief minutes.  I need advice on purchasing a drop spindle.  I have problems keeping my left arm raised to hold a drop spindle having had lymph nodes removed after breast cancer and some nerve damage.  I also have swelling in the joints of my right thumb.  To help with both these aggravating issues I thought it would be best to purchase a very lightweight drop spindle that could be supported.  Being an absolute novice on this, having only seen illustrations on women spinning with the drop spindle in a bowl, I wondered if something like this would work for me.  Advice would be appreciated.  I also thought that learning to spin on a drop spindle would give me some practice for spinning on a great wheel I just purchased.  I've been spinning on a traditional wheel for over 20 years but I do remember the hardest part of learning was getting the feet and hands coordinated.  The Great Wheel has a similar function to the spindle in that you set the spindle in motion and use your hands to control the twist of the fiber before feeding it onto the spindle.  I would appreciate any advice.  Thank you, Pat in Ohio

Not Ranked
Posts 2
lianita24 wrote
on Oct 31, 2012 12:22 PM

I think you must buy a kick spindle- to kick it by foot. You can buy them on etsy.com- $ 90

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 30
BGMeyer wrote
on Dec 5, 2012 8:33 AM