Total newbie and not spinning animal fibres

This post has 11 Replies | 3 Followers
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 9
margyparker wrote
on Feb 9, 2013 6:56 AM

So I had my first lesson this week one on one for about 5 hours. We used wool and I got on really well. I said to the teacher that I didn't mind using wool while I was there if it was easier for her to teach me with wool. I am now at home with lots of non animal fibres and trying to spin and doing absolutely horribly!

I have bamboo, recycled bottles that is quite short staple length and crimped like wool? Nylon - looks horrid not tried that yet and soya bean fibre. 

My 'yarn' is thick and thin and there is no twist in the fat bits and twisting spin knots in the thin stuff. I am starting to despair a bit. Is this just going to happen suddenly? Life would be so much easier if I used wool! 

It seems a real waste as well, the  drafting is the problem it is either too many fibres or too few - is this normal for newbies? Is it worth trying to get the drafting sorted without actually spinning the fibres or will that just not work? 

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 30
BGMeyer wrote
on Feb 9, 2013 8:04 AM

You sound like a perfectly NORMAL Newbie. As another columnist says on a totally other subject: it gets better. I would suggest concentrating on wool for now, it may be easier. Do what I have heard is called Park and draft: twist up your wool, stop the wheel, draft it out and then draw it in and do it again. It isn't a waste: someday you will spin much more smooth wool and other fiber and wish you could spin such interesting textures as your beginner stuff! Just relax, we have ALL been where you are.

Barb

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 9
margyparker wrote
on Feb 9, 2013 9:48 AM

Ah ok thank you Barb - I am vegan I don't use animal products - hence no wool. Feel better now tho! :)

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 33
Richardrwg wrote
on Apr 2, 2013 10:34 AM

Hi Margy and welcome.