Yarn twisted into knots but not drawn onto bobbin.

This post has 5 Replies | 5 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Sami P. wrote
on Jan 13, 2011 5:57 PM

Hi, 

I'm new to spinning and have a Saxony double drive wheel which does not even draw up yarn hanging free, but it sure does twist it. The bobbin and flyer appear to be moving together. I have taken the flyer out, lightly sanded the shaft under the bobbin and oiled it. I have also changed the drive belt and the tension, from loosey goosey to very tight. Any suggestions? 

I have been looking for a teacher in Sonoma County but no on uses a double drive wheel. I will be very grateful for any help. Thanks.

Stymied Sami

Not Ranked
Posts 1
KarenDI wrote
on May 9, 2011 8:06 AM

Hi, Sami--

I use a double drive Ashford Traditional, and I have had similar problems with take-up from time to time. I find that I get the very best take-up when there's a big difference in ratios between bobbin and flyer. In addition, I find that I need to keep adjusting the drive band as the cop gets larger: when I start out, I use just enough tension so that the yarn gets taken up, but not so much that it's ripped out of my hand. As I go along, I tighten the drive band a tiny bit as needed, usually when I stop to change flyer hooks.

Is it possible to use a Scotch tension on your wheel? Mine is "convertible," and I do find that while I like the double drive for most applications, I can use Scotch tension to get really vigorous take-up in certain situations, like when I'm plying.

I hope this info is useful to you!

Karen

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 558
on May 9, 2011 10:00 AM

Little things can effect what you are trying to do. Double drive are set up for subtle changes. Check a few thing first (I'm sure you already have). I am guessing the stray fiber on the hooks is eliminated. Let's move on to the next theory: something may not be set up properly. This isn't rocket science, but if something is out of whack or backwards, the rest won't work.