Not A Paulist!

This post has 2 Replies | 2 Followers
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 5
DonnaN@16 wrote
on Sep 5, 2012 7:33 AM

My husband and I were shocked and angry that you folks did a story on that bum Dave Pauls.  I saved and scrimped and my husband contributed money so that Dave Pauls could build me a Canadian Wheel.  The one at the New Hampshire Sheep and Wool Fest worked fine...$450 is a lot in our house and money comes dear, even though the economy was stable at the time.  The wheel ( he did not want us going up there!  I might have gotten the "lure" the one that worked) was delivered late, and it was a disaster the moment he left, and he blamed me for it.  He said I was a beginner spinner, that was the problem...I had, at that point been teaching spinning for thirty years!  My husband is a wood worker among other things...we had to sand the wheel, and he made the flyer out of Ashford parts, and everything about the thing was off...it spit drive bands like a kid spitting watermelon seeds, the flyer fell apart, he said the 3 in 1 oil was too strong and actually cut the shaft; one excuse after another...six months later we brought it back, he supposedly fixed it, he fixed it all right!  He told me that the "Canadians only filled their bobbins half way".  My husband is 3/4 Canadian,  and his relations had thirteen and sixteen kids...lots of spinning in those houses, and a half filled bobbin; just doesn't cut it!   It has been up for sale for years, and no one wants this thing...it takes up space in my cellar.  This man should not be out there!  He is what is called a Ninety Day Wonder.  How could you take his word for anything?  I now have a Canadian Wheel, old and rickety and the bobbins are all chipped, (my husband made them and they  work like a charm) but other than my Ashfords, is my best friend!  Dave said the old wheels were great and he could do them one better.  Well, my old wheel works better and his are just kindling, his hitchhiker, ditto...friends chec