Introduction and a teaching problem

This post has 7 Replies | 5 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
dpedneault wrote
on Sep 5, 2012 5:20 PM

Hi My name is Doralee and I have opened Doralee's Handspininng  in Sanford Maine.  I am starting to teach classes and have run in to the problem of getting across core ideas of spinning techniques to students who want to learn spinning but are having a hard time getting over the fact they have to let go of the fiber so it can draw into the orifice of the spinning wheel.  Its been so long since I was a beginner (1970s) that some things are self evident to me but  I know they are not to my students.  Are there handspinning teachers workshops I can go to or is this something that takes time?  I don't get angry but try to be reassuring but how do I overcome their frustration?

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Rebecca252 wrote
on Sep 7, 2012 7:06 AM

+JMJ+

Hi Doralee - I have been spinning several years and have taught a few friends to spin.  I found the best way to begin is to use a ball of yarn surprising as that may sound.  Attach the yarn to the lead as you normaly would wool roving and let the new spinner get the feel of the action of the wheel, how it twists and how it draws.  By the time they have 'spun' the ball of yarn they will be ready to try spinning wool roving.  Hope this helps.  Good luck - Rebecca

Not Ranked
Posts 2
someguy wrote
on Oct 8, 2012 8:21 AM

I don't have anything to offer for your question, but can you tell me what the hours are for your store? We've been past it a few times, but haven't been able to stop when you were open.

My wife is interested in getting into spinning, and I've been researching spinning wheels to try to figure out what's decent for wheels.

Thanks

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 33
Richardrwg wrote
on Nov 21, 2012 5:23 PM

I recently taught my niece to spin and had the same problem, this was my solution.