Just started spinning again and still like it.

This post has 2 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
ramyers wrote
on Feb 14, 2013 12:21 PM

I started spinning on a homemade drop spindle when I was a teenager and was hooked.  I just started spinning on my Ashford Traditional Double Drive spinning wheel again after many years.  I was a complete self taught novice before and still am.  I have bags and bags of dog hair from our two Great Pyrenees and Great Pyrenees/Husky.  I really like to spin, but I make so many mistakes because the yarn just doesn't look right.  Years ago, I decided to spin the hair dirty because we didn't have running water where we lived and I read somewhere that people do that.  I am currently washing some more dirty spun fiber and will wash before spinning from now on!!  Also my fiber is really kinky, like a spring now that it's plyed. I have been working on the tension on my wheel, but can't seem to get this right.  Is this natural for a novice?  Should I go back to the drop spindle?  Should I tighten the drive even more than I have?  Maybe I should take a class???

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 30
BGMeyer wrote
on Feb 15, 2013 9:34 AM